Daily Blog… How Hard Could It Be?

Since the day I created this blog I had aspirations to try (and succeed) in posting every single day for a set amount of time. Now that I am starting to get college under grasp I think I will make this my next goal starting today. But lets set a reasonable goal; minimum of one post a day for a week. How hard could it be right?

Everyday I scour the inter-webs in search of anything of the slightest interest. At 7:27am nothing is very interesting. I know a hot-topic issue currently is the gun control debate. I am willing to voice some thoughts I have and my opinions thought I must first warn you, I am not keen on reading everything about what is going on currently so anything I say on this topic may hurt some people, sound foolish, be wrong, or it might just entertain you for the 30 seconds you spend reading this. But my goal is to have it in the back of your mind the rest of the day and to have you just think about it and come to your own conclusions. Everyone’s opinion matters. Butting heads allows for interesting debates and arguments and what would online social interaction be without a little trash talking back and forth!

So let me start off by saying I know gun control has been one of the main topics of discussion for decades. Heck it is in the Bill of Rights! But events of the past decade and, most recently, the Tuscon, Arizona shooting, Norway attacks, Aurora theater, and tragically the Newtown school shooting.

I won’t go into any great detail too much on any individual incident as I do not find I am educated enough in what exactly transpired those fateful days. I will say this though. These events are extremely tragic. I wish everyday that I don’t read or hear something about another shooting. I think those saying gun control laws will just take guns out of the arms of good people just bologna.

I believe in gun control. Let me stop right now and say I am 110% against the banning of all weapons. I do believe we have the right to defend ourselves and our families along with recreational activities. I believe in strict background checks for everyone wishing to purchase a firearm. I don’t care if it is a small “pea shooter” or an assault rifle. A detailed and thorough background check will help lower the incidents that we see almost weekly it seems.

I am not saying background checks alone will stop things like this from happening. Unfortunately events like these won’t ever stop I fret. People will always find a way to get their hands on a weapon if they truly want to inflict pain and suffering with it. But my hope is that by instituting these background checks President Obama is calling for will prevent guns from getting into the hands of somebody. If this will make it harder and allow a person to think twice about what they are doing and possibly prevent a shooting from taking place, by all means do it.

As for the Assault weapons ban, I think it is a good idea. Please tell me why you need an M16 in your house. Protection? Please I bet you like to just use it to strut your ego. If you want something to protect your family with invest in a gun by all means. But also invest money into state-of-the-art security system too. Someone breaking into your home is more likely to run away upon hearing an alarm or see you have an alarm than someone would by seeing you sitting alone in an alarm free home by yourself.

A major worry of mine is children getting a hold of weapons in the home. I know it is more likely to drown in your bathtub than it is having your kids accidentally shoot someone but there is always that risk. Gun education is key. If you want a gun or have a gun and don’t educate those around you on the proper and safe use and operation of said weapon, you shouldn’t have it in the first place. Safety is always priority over your enjoyment shooting paper targets in the backyard.

Again I am not against people owning guns. Good, educated people should own guns if they feel it necessary in my opinion. Protection is a must in an ever growing and dangerous world. There are countless stories of families having to shoot someone who is breaking into their home. That is exactly the reason people should own guns. Responsible gun owners can save a family by knowing the proper way to use one.

I honestly believe people should own guns as long as you educate those around you and use it safely. I know I myself don’t own any guns of the sort and have only shot a handful of times and know little about how to go about properly owning a weapon. But I believe there should be gun control laws in effect to help prevent or reduce the number of people who shouldn’t own guns from owning them. I know if they really want a gun they will get one. You can’t stop that. But my hope is that we can avoid all these mass shootings we have seen in the past few years because it is just senseless killing. No one deserves to die for attending a political rally or get blown up walking down the street or watching a movie or get shot sitting in a classroom trying to better yourself by learning. No one deserves any of this. I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.

So please tell me how to stand on this issue. I am sure we won’t hear the end of it ever. I just hope I don’t wake up tomorrow to another shooting.

 

Categories: Misc. | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

